Echinacea is spot on for skin care!

As a teenager I was lucky enough not to have spots as a problem.  Instead I was just pale and freckly!  So imagine my surprise when at the age of 30 I noticed I was experiencing spotty rashes across my cheeks that wouldn’t go away.  So off to the doctors I went to be promptly diagnosed as having adult acne!

The doctor put it down to stress and hormones and prescribed me some extra strong and ghastly smelling solution to put on my face daily.  The solution worked, if taking away the spots but making my face resemble the Sahara desert devoid of any moisture and shine, is what it was meant to do!  True it did help get rid of the spots when they appeared but it didn’t seem to stop them for constantly appearing, so my poor face seemed to be winning the spot battle only to lose the war on dry skin!

I decided to stop using the prescribed solution after my face started to become even drier, tighter and sorer as the days went on and my inflamed face, combined with my red hair, made me look like a life-size tomato (not a good look for anyone!).  Then after trying nearly every product out there for spots and experiencing the same drying effect you can imagine my delight after a brief conversation with A.Vogel’s nutritional therapist Alison Cullen, who took one look at my face and said ‘you’re not drinking enough water and try Echinacea cream, I finally found the right solution for me!

IMG-20131220-01238After only working at A.Vogel a few months I had obviously came across the amazing benefits of Echinacea for fighting colds and flu symptoms so I was amazed to find it also fights spots!  What a wonderful and versatile herb it is!  The cream* is made from freshly gown Echinacea herb extracts and its rich format both nourishes and clears the skin.  It’s also light and perfect as a day or night moisturiser.

I was pleasantly surprised by the immediate soothing relief I found when trying the cream for the first time, within minutes my face felt less inflamed and by the next day my spots had noticeably reduced.  Needless to say I have been using Echinacea cream ever since… It’s now part of my daily cleansing regime and provides the perfect combination of spot fighting and moisturising, and is the ideal base for my makeup.

According to Ali one of the simplest and most effective things you can do for your skin is to drink more water, so I’m also trying to improve the condition of my skin through increasing my water intake and eating more Vitamin C rich foods such as apples, oranges, bananas, lemons, carrots, peas etc so I’m off to a great start.

Here’s to a spot free New Year and humbug to adult acne…!

*Unsuitable for vegans and those allergic to bee products as it contains beeswax

Leave a comment